County Boards, Commissions
and Advisory Committees

Planning Commission

Background: Created by SJC Code Chapter 2.20, a commission that holds public hearings regarding land use regulations including comprehensive plan amendments, open space applications, and subdivision applications, and that acts in an advisory capacity to the Community Development and Planning Department, and formally makes recommendations to the Council. This nine member board has staggered terms of four-years, with 4 members from San Juan, 3 members from Orca/Waldron/Blakely and 2 members from Lopez/Shaw. Guiding documents are Resolution 18-1960 and Ordinance 12-2007.
Contact: Lynda Guernsey, Recording Sec'y
Phone: 360-370-7579
Council Liaison: none

 Matthew Ellingson4 Year12/25San Juan Island, Position #4
 Sheila Gaquin4 Year12/24Orcas Island, Position #6
 Rick Hoffman4 Year12/26Lopez/Shaw, Position #9
 Peter Kilpatrick4 Year12/25San Juan Island, Position #1
Vice ChairNicholas Knoellinger4 Year12/24Orcas Island, Position #7
 Steven Rubey4 Year12/22Lopez/Shaw, Position #3
 Steve Smith4 Year12/24 Orcas Island, Position #2
 VACANT4 Year12/25San Juan Island, Position #8
 VacantPartial12/24San Juan Island , Position #5